On the Campaign Trail … 11/11/10 … Campaign Goals Accomplished

When I started the campaign to become the next City Council member in Stillwater Ward 1, I set a goal for myself to make five full trips around the Ward, engaging people to get a solid sense of the electorate I hope to ultimately represent.  Today I completed that goal, and the numbers tell a story with quantitative as well as qualitative story lines.

Quantitatively, I walked a bit more than 190 miles over a 4-month period, speaking with approximately 1500 individuals while handing out about 6000 pieces of campaign material.  These numbers mean little other than to show I am comfortable setting lofty goals and then achieving them.  I am also told by the “experts” that winning a local election is done, “one vote at a time.” I gave it my best shot.

Qualitative results were really the most significant outcome, however.   I was met with a graciousness and courtesy I was not expecting.  People seemed pleased to be engaged by someone running for office and was captured best by the man who said; “I’ve lived here 35 years and never had anyone from city council ask what I thought?”  I heard of the things people liked about Stillwater and the frustrations they felt.  I can say I enjoyed myself so much that I’m afraid I must have been doing something illegal.  I realized clearly just how much I love engaging people about issues which will make everyone’s lives a bit better.  It’s what I’ve done my entire life in the Navy, teaching graduate students and helping executive teams develop their leadership skills.

My opponent says his past experience is what makes him worthy of being on the city council.  I argue his “experience” has in part caused what it is people say they are frustrated about today.  My experiences have been in engaging people to improve their status, whether it is aboard a ship, in a Fortune 500 company, or learning how to lead.  Those skills are readily transferrable to the City Council  and are  the kind of experience which is needed in these difficult times.  I hope you can see your way clear to vote for me tomorrow.

No matter the outcome, I am very proud of the campaign my opponent and I ran.  Above all else, it was civil, and we stayed on point. There are clear differences for the voter to choose from and that choice will be made in the voting booth tomorrow.   I am so thankful to have experienced this small piece of the democratic process.  I am, also, honored to have been in your presence.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment