On the Campaign Trail … 10/12/10 … Taking Some Time Off

After more than 3 months on the campaign trail, except for a long grandparent week-end in Denver, I’m heading off once again.  I’ll be in Annapolis, MD until Sunday attending the 50th Reunion of my Naval Academy Class.  In June of 1960, I tossed my hat in the air with great exhilaration and headed off to Pearl Harbor and my first ship.  I left behind 31 of some of the closest friends I’ve ever had, and I’m anxious to pick up those conversations we started more than five decades ago.  Not all of them are still with us, but recalling their memories and hearing old sea stories will make for a wonderful, nostalgic time.

While at the Academy, we were imbued with the values of Duty, Honor and Country. Every day, that notion was woven into our beings, whether in class, on the athletic fields or summer cruises.  It became our creed and the way in which we lived our lives as officers.  It kept us going during difficult times and remains with us still, now in the form of deep pride and appreciation for having lived such a life.  It was a privilege to have served my country.

Because of the Nomadic life I’ve lived in the service, I’ve never had the opportunity to serve my community – until now.  I’ve watched from afar during the 17 years I’ve lived in Stillwater and believe I can help make this wonderful city an even better place in which to live.  But first, I have to get elected, and that is what I have been working at since late June.  Only 22 days to go, but who’s counting?

Duty, Honor and Community … that is my commitment to you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment